6 days of soreness…

So I cycled into the city, a mere 40-50 kms whilst out of shape and lacking coordination and confidence. How was it?

Bloody hard on every level. I don’t like being one-speed and not fast enough to pull out in front of traffic when I have to. I don’t have anything like the confidence I had a couple of years back and so had to hug the inside lane instead of zip about.

I got caught in torrential rain too. 6 days on I still feel it. In retrospect it was too much of a step up, however, my intentions were honorable. We have to move on and push ourselves off otherwise we won’t make a start. I think my advice is to understand that without power in the legs to push on at the speed your style of riding is bent around, cycling isn’t half the fun you think it is.

Wiser me tell myself don’t do it today. Legs are still sore. I run and cycle everyday, and only this week was it the case that the muscles in my shoulder are moving again. Tomorrow’s ride by the river cancelled too. Best to build up slowly and when fitness is up again, then we can move on -keeping it very local until then… .

Leave a comment